Provost’s Prize for Faculty Excellence in Diversity

Biophysicist Karen Fleming wins $50,000 Provost’s Prize for Faculty Excellence in Diversity.  She was recognized for her efforts to support gender equity in STEM fields.  Learn more in the HUB.

Yolanda Abel (far left), an associate professor in teaching and learning at the School of Education, was also named a finalist for the Provost’s Prize and awarded a $10,000 honorarium for her scholarship and outreach in Baltimore City schools.  Learn more in the HUB. 

The 2020 Provost’s Prize for Faculty Excellence in Diversity

Call for Nominations

Current full-time Johns Hopkins faculty members in any discipline with bodies of work focused on diversity and inclusion are eligible for the $50,000 Provost’s Prize for Faculty Excellence in Diversity.  Faculty members are invited to nominate a colleague, or self-nominations are encouraged.

Nominations from faculty members, including self-nominations will be accepted beginning February 24th. Required materials must be submitted to by: March 23rd.

The prize acknowledges faculty efforts across a broad spectrum of disciplines, such as international affairs, business, education, science, health, public policy, the arts, and other fields. For the award, diversity is broadly defined and includes issues related to underrepresented minorities, women, gender identity, sexual orientation, and/or disabilities.

A 10-member committee representing all nine academic divisions will review the nominations and recommend a winner to the vice provost for faculty affairs.

The winner will be honored at the Diversity Leadership Council’s annual awards ceremony, to be held in May.

Please note: The previous year’s winner and finalist(s) are ineligible for nomination this year.  They may apply or be nominated in the next cycle.

Nomination Guidelines

Nominations will consist of the following elements:

  • A letter of nomination (maximum two pages) that describes how the nominee’s body of work promotes the advancement of understanding, acceptance, and/or solidarity for the confluence of cultures that embody the global world (as outlined in the prize description); self-nominations are encouraged.
  • A scholarly contribution statement from the nominee (maximum two pages) that describes the body of work’s contribution to the advancement of diversity (broadly defined), as well as its impact within and beyond the nominee’s field.
  • Nominee’s CV
  • Name of nominee’s division, school, and department, to aid in reviewer assignment.

Nomination Criteria

  • Nominations will be assessed based on extraordinary scholarly contributions related to diversity.  With the understanding that this work takes many different forms, nominations from all schools and divisions are strongly encouraged.  While this prize is not meant to be a lifetime achievement award, there must be evidence of a body of work.  A university-wide committee consisting of 10 distinguished faculty members from the nine academic schools and divisions will review all nominations.  After review, the committee will submit their recommendation of the prizewinner to the Vice-Provost for Faculty Affairs, and the Provost.

Previous Winners and Finalists

2019 Winner: Karen Fleming  Read the article in the HUB.

2019 Finalist: Yolanda Abel 

2018 Winner: Douglas Robinson  Read the article in the HUB.

2018 Finalist: Phyllis Sharps

2017 Winner: Lester Spence  Read the article in the HUB.

2017 Finalist: Tilak Ratnanather

2016 Winner: Lisa Cooper  Read the article in the HUB.

2016 Finalist: Judah Adashi

Nominations and questions should be sent to: