Provost’s Prize for Faculty Excellence in Diversity

2018 Winner: Professor, Douglas Robinson, School of Medicine

2018 Finalist: Professor, Phyllis Sharps, School of Nursing

Douglas Robinson, a professor in the Department of Cell Biology, has been recognized by Johns Hopkins University with a $50,000 prize for assisting diverse scholars—ranging from high schoolers to graduate students—to succeed in scientific fields.

Read the full story in The HUB.

The Office of the Provost also recognized one finalist, Phyllis Sharps, associate dean for community programs and initiatives at the School of Nursing. Sharps, who received a $10,000 honorarium, was chosen for mentoring and supporting students, particularly those of color, and for her research in maternal and child health, which has led to effective interventions for vulnerable individuals in the community.

Read the full story in The HUB.

The Provost’s Prize: Call for Nominations

Current full-time Johns Hopkins faculty members in any discipline with bodies of work focused on diversity and inclusion are eligible for the $50,000 Provost’s Prize for Faculty Excellence in Diversity.  Faculty members are invited to nominate a colleague, or self-nominations are encouraged.

Nominations from faculty members, including self-nominations are accepted annually in beginning in February. Required materials must be submitted to in April.

The prize acknowledges faculty efforts across a broad spectrum of disciplines, such as international affairs, business, education, science, health, public policy, the arts, and other fields. For the award, diversity is broadly defined and includes issues related to underrepresented minorities, women, gender identity, sexual orientation, and/or disabilities.

A 10-member committee representing all nine academic divisions will review the nominations and recommend a winner to the vice provost for faculty affairs.

The winner will be honored at the Diversity Leadership Council’s annual awards ceremony, to be held in May.

Please note: The previous year’s winner and finalist(s) are ineligible for nomination this year.  They may apply or be nominated in the next cycle.

Nomination Guidelines

Nominations will consist of the following elements:

  • A letter of nomination (maximum two pages) that describes how the nominee’s body of work promotes the advancement of understanding, acceptance, and/or solidarity for the confluence of cultures that embody the global world (as outlined in the prize description); self-nominations are encouraged (see note below about self-nomination guidelines).
  • A scholarly contribution statement from the nominee (maximum two pages) that describes the body of work’s contribution to the advancement of diversity (broadly defined), as well as its impact within and beyond the nominee’s field.
  • Nominee’s CV
  • Name of nominee’s division, school, and department, to aid in reviewer assignment.

Nomination Criteria

  • Nominations will be assessed based on extraordinary scholarly contributions related to diversity.  With the understanding that this work takes many different forms, nominations from all schools and divisions are strongly encouraged.  While this prize is not meant to be a lifetime achievement award, there must be evidence of a body of work.  A university-wide committee consisting of 10 distinguished faculty members from the nine academic schools and divisions will review all nominations.  After review, the committee will submit their recommendation of the prizewinner to the Vice-Provost for Faculty Affairs, and the Provost.

Previous winners of The Provost’s Prize for Faculty Excellence in Diversity

2017 Winner: Lester Spence. Read the article in the HUB.

2017 Finalist: Tilak Ratnanather

2016 Winner: Lisa Cooper.  Read the article in the HUB.

2016 Finalist: Judah Adashi

Nominations and questions should be sent to: